Last Update :12/19/2017

NGCOA Announces Annual Award Winners

Monday, December 18, 2017

National Golf Course Owners Association (NGCOA) Announces Annual Award Winners


Charleston, SC (December 18, 2017) - The National Golf Course Owners Association (NGCOA) has announced the winners of the association's annual awards. Each year the NGCOA honors the most outstanding members of the past year. These individuals and organizations have helped preserve the tradition of the game while embracing the challenges and opportunities of the golf business.

"This year we are honoring some golf industry giants, " says Jay Karen, NGCOA's Chief Executive Officer. "In addition, we are excited to recognize some unsung people who have done giant things for golf. The awards ceremony is always NGCOA's finest hour of the year."

National Course of the Year Award - Recognizes a golf course that epitomizes exceptional course quality and management excellence, while making important contributions to their communities and the game. 
Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III (Hilton Head, SC)

Course of the Year Regional Finalists
Northeast - Manchester Country Club (Bedford, NH)
South - Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III (Hilton Head, SC)
Midwest - Swan Lake Resort (Plymouth, IN)
West - Resort at Eagle Point Golf Club ( Eagle Point, OR)

Player Development Award - Bestowed upon a course, entity or individual, which has implemented true and tested player development programs, providing effective return-on-investment and an overall welcoming atmosphere for new golfers of all ages.
Cantigny Golf (Wheaton, IL)
Troon & Troon-Managed Facilities 

Award of Merit - Designated for long-term and significant contributions to the game of golf.
Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA)

Don Rossi Award - Given for significant and long-lasting contribution to the NGCOA.
Peter Hill - CEO and Chairman of Billy Casper Golf, NGCOA Board of Directors since 2011

Jemsek Award for Golf Course Excellence - Honors the world's top golf courses, which are widely known for superior quality, having hosted major amateur and professional tournaments and for being venues to which golfers travel from far and wide. 
Erin Hills (Hartford, WI)

Paul Porter Award - Established to recognize an NGCOA member who left an enduring mark on a national or international affiliate through the highest level of commitment, service and leadership.
Mark Seabrook (Founding President of NGCOA Canada) and Jeff Calderwood (Executive Director of NGCOA Canada since it's inception) - NGCOA Canada is celebrating its 25th Anniversary.

Champion Award - Bestowed upon individuals or entities which have succeeded in working on behalf of a group of owners - locally, regionally, nationally or internationally - and have garnered through a significant victory for our members. 
Indiana Golf Course Owners Association
Elisa Gaudet - Women's Golf Day Founder

Award winners will be recognized at the Celebration and Awards Dinner on Thursday, February 8, the final event of the Golf Business Conference at San Antonio's Marriott Rivercenter.

The annual Golf Business Conference provides attendees the opportunity to connect and network with fellow course owners and operators, learn about new solutions and technologies, and leave with tools and strategies to grow their business. Golf Business Conference information and registration can be found at

The National Golf Course Owners Association (NGCOA) is the leading authority on the business of golf course ownership and management. The Association represents and promotes the interests of golf courses as the principal businesses and economic assets of the game of golf. The not-for-profit organization is the only trade association dedicated exclusively to golf course owners and operators. Through advocacy, education and information resources, purchasing programs and networking opportunities, the NGCOA helps golf course owners and operators run more successful businesses. For more information, visit or call 1-800-933-4262.

Hollie West
Director of Member Programs

[ More News ]