Last Update :3/12/2021

2020 Excellence in Club Management Award Winners Announced

2020 Excellence in Club Management Award Winners Announced

The 2020 honorees, revealed in a special webcast on March 2nd, include (top row, left to right) Jack Slaughter of the Carolina Country Club; Craig Cutler of the Country Club of Detroit, and Lawrence McFadden of The Union Club in Cleveland, Ohio; (bottom row, left to right) Bill Morari of The National Club in Toronto, Ontario, Canada; Kris Glaubitz of Congressional Country Club, and Martin Ryan, General Manager Emeritus of the Wellesley (Mass.) Country Club, who was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award.


Club + Resort Business, in conjunction with the McMahon Group, Inc., the St. Louis-based consulting firm and the National Club Association (NCA), have announced the 2020 recipients of the Excellence in Club Management (ECM) Awards, established in 1997 by the McMahon Group and co-sponsored since 2005 by C+RB. The NCA joined as a sponsor for the 2018 Awards.

The annual awards are selected through nominations submitted on behalf of qualified candidates by other parties. Award recipients are selected solely on the basis of their achievements at the club they currently manage; “lifetime achievements” are not considered.

A Selection Committee comprised of a peer group of club managers conducts the judging for the ECM Awards; the McMahon Group, Club + Resort Business and the NCA are not involved in the selection of the winners.

The Selection Committee for the 2020 Awards was chaired by David Chag, CCM, General Manager of The Country Club in Brookline, Mass. A full listing of judges, in addition to information on past winners and on how to nominate candidates for future years’ awards, can be found at the special website for the ECM Awards,

The 2020 Excellence in Club Management winners are:

The James H. Brewer Award (Country/Golf Clubs with 600 or More Full-Privilege Members)
Jack Slaughter, CCM, CCE, ECM, General Manager/Chief Operating OfficerCarolina Country Club, Raleigh, N.C.

The Mead Grady Award (Country/Golf Clubs with Fewer than 600 Full-Privilege Members)
Craig Cutler, CCM, ECM, General ManagerCountry Club of Detroit, Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich.

The Mel Rex Award (City, Athletic or Specialty (Non-Golf) Club)
Lawrence McFadden, CMC, ECM, General Manager/Chief Operating OfficerThe Union Club, Cleveland, Ohio

The John Furlong Award (Canadian manager)
Bill Morari, ECM, General Manager/Chief Operating OfficerThe National Club, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

The Rising Star Award (Assistant manager)
Kris Glaubitz, CCM, ECM, Director of Food & BeverageCongressional Country Club, Bethesda, Md.

This year, ECM honors also included a Lifetime Achievement Award for Martin RyanGeneral Manager EmeritusWellesley (Mass.) Country Club.

Traditionally, ECM Award winners are honored each year at a gala dinner and ceremony. However, because of current travel and social-gathering restrictions, the 2020 winners were revealed through a special, live “Academy Awards”-style webcast, held on March 2.

To view the presentation, click HERE

Presentations will also be held at each winner’s club throughout 2021, and in-depth articles detailing the achievements that led to the selection of each of the winners will appear in issues of Club + Resort Business throughout 2021.

More information about the ECM Awards, including previous years’ winners and how to make nominations for the 2021 Awards, can be found at

[ More News ]